CPLP - New Legislation

Special conditions for visa for CPLP citizens

The Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP) is an international organization composed of nine countries: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Timor-Leste, and Equatorial Guinea. It aims to promote cooperation between Portuguese-speaking countries.

According to Article 52-A, special conditions for granting visas to nationals of CPLP member states include dispensing with the prior opinion of the Immigration and Borders Service (SEF), direct and immediate consultation of the Schengen Information System (SIS) databases, and the possibility of refusing to issue the visa only if there is an indication of prohibition of entry and stay in the SIS or, if applicable, the applicant does not have the authorization provided for in another article. The issuance of the visa is automatically communicated to the SEF for internal security purposes. This procedure can be extended to nationals of other states through international agreements.

Article 87-A authorizes residence for CPLP citizens. Nationals of CPLP member states who hold a short-stay visa or temporary stay visa, or who have entered the national territory legally, may apply for a residence permit with the SEF. The granting of the residence permit depends on the observance of the conditions for granting a CPLP residence visa and residence authorization. For the issuance of the residence permit, the competent services consult the applicant’s Portuguese criminal record ex officio.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *